New Faculty 2022

University of Chicago Griffin Crest Logo

Y. Shirley Meng

Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering

Y. Shirley Meng’s research focuses primarily on energy storage materials and systems—including rechargeable batteries for electric vehicles and trucks and power sources for the Internet of Things (IoT), as well as grid-scale storage for deep renewable energy penetration. She discovers and designs better materials for energy storage by a combination of first principles, computation-guided materials discovery and design, and advanced characterization with electron/neutron/photon sources. She is the principal investigator of the Laboratory for Energy Storage and Conversion and is the chief scientist of the Argonne Collaborative Center for Energy Storage Science at Argonne National Laboratory.

Meng’s honors include the Faraday Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry, International Battery Association Battery Research Award, Charles W. Tobias Young Investigator Award of the Electrochemical Society, BASF and Volkswagen Science Award Electrochemistry, and National Science Foundation Career Award. She is an elected fellow of the Electrochemical Society and the Materials Research Society, and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

She received a bachelor’s degree with first class honors from Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, and a PhD in advanced materials for micro and nano systems from the Singapore–MIT Alliance for Research and Technology. She was a postdoctoral research fellow and a research scientist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Meng recently held the Zable Endowed Chair in Energy Technologies at the University of California, San Diego.

Read more about Y. Shirley Meng